Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mays Community Middle School 1

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
Some of the teachers are excellent, so are the magnet programs but they should consider taking the elective programs seriously. My child has dance but isn't magnet, they never dance which discourages even trying to improve and join magnet. Also teachers need to take initiative, if a student does poorly and you notice they still are after sending notes to parents, how about a phone call or email? Instead of doing the bare minimum as a teacher take the 5 secs to email a parent, maybe we aren't getting the notes, I accept that means my child doesn't bring them home, but if I am unaware I can't act on the issue.I mean here it is end of the year and I find out nothing was done for a quarter?! Is that even possible?! Why couldn't I be emailed or called? Not to mention they dont tell parents about the REAL issues this school is still having like arrested 7th graders because they got intoxicated on school premises, students who constantly cause fights or checking all students with metal detectors, these are serious matters we should be told about, honestly how serious is checking backpacks/lockers/ and actual students?? Something was up and we weren't informed!

Mays Community Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
GO MRS.HOWARD AND MR.SCAVELLA WHOA FROM JANEL HYLTON AND ASHLEY KNIGHT SAID HEEEEEEEEEEEY Ms.GREEN AND MR>PARKER AND ROGERS AND WIGGINS AND EVERBODY IN STATER LAND HAHAHAHAH LOVE THIS SCHOOL


Mays Community Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a student
ilovethis school but the magnet program need to imp[rove dont get me roung there all good students and have wonderful talents but the beginers should get chance to show there talent because some of those kids are actually there because that might be there dream like me am there because its my dream to be an actress thank you

Mays Community Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2008
- a parent
My child has been to that school and passed with the great help of those teachers that never stop trying!!!!!

Mays Community Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mays Community Middle School 5

Posted April 09, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mays Community Middle School 4

Posted December 27, 2005
- a former student
The magnet programs at this school are EXCELLENT. You wouldn't have to worry about the quality of your childs education if he/she were enrolled in one of the magnet programs or advanced classes you can be sure your child is receive good quality education. Extracurricular activities help too. I have nothing but good memories from mays. I was envolved with nothing but good students and made the best of friends.

Mays Community Middle School 3

Posted April 21, 2005
- a student
Mays was an 'okay' school. Though, overcrowdedness was a slight problem. The students weren't really dedicated, but the teachers were wonderful. The Magnet Programs is what makes this school worth it.


Mays Community Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2004
- a parent
Mays middle is a great learning school.It's a very safe and discipline school. They have great programs before as well as after school that our kids could take advantage. Stop by sometimes an see for yourself, don't just take my word for it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mays Community Middle School
11700 SW 216th St, Miami, FL  33170
(305) 233-2300
Last modified Mays Community Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mays Community Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top