Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson

Public | 6-8 | 279 students

We are best known for Technology, Math, and sports.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2010

As a leader and parent I am upheld to a higher standard of conduct and discipline. These are also criteria s I expect from teacher(s) at Jefferson Middle School. By yelling, criticizing, and embarrassing my student in the company of her peers will seriously and negatively affect her self esteem and academics. For the teacher(s) at Jefferson Middle School who continues to practice and run their classroom in this way should expect very little in way of success from a student. It is very difficult to defend you in the areas of respect when you lack giving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

This is a very good school I myself attended Jefferson Middle School. When Graduated in 2008 it was hard to say goodbye to a good School. I had fun when I was there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2010

the teacher are not lazy,they work hard to make sure we learn,they add fun. This was a staement from my chid who has attended Jefferson for the 7th and 8th grade. I as a parent choosen to display my sons opion,because of his quick response,when ask,I am busy parent,so I dont get to be apart Jefferson,but I am apart of my son,and i see the difference,dispite that I am not there in every PTA,Jefferson has made every effort to keep me in form,by email,or phone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

My son attends Jefferson and enjoys the fact that it is a science and technology school. They offer robotics club, chess club, digital photography and more for their after-school programs. The school is going through transition with a new principal, but I believe the changes being made are good overall. The teachers are attentive to the students from my experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

Mym son is in the 7th grade and we love it. He really likes his teachers and the 7th grade vice principal is great. She really understands kids and seems to work well with my son's teachers. The other day my son stated that Ms. Waller walks around to each of the classes to ensure 'academic excellence'. I really like the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

This school has some serious management issues. The administration is very nice but seems to have a big problem getting the school into a permanent schedule. My son has informed me that his schedule is being completely mixed around for no apparent reason 7 weeks into school. My biggest concern is that he said one of his classes is now being held in a very small room in the basement of the school. There's barely enough room to fit all the desks and some students have to sit on the floor. There's one tiny window and they can't even hear the bell or announcements. He's pretty sure it's because the current teacher cannot control the class and the administration decided that they could not have class in the auditorium. Seems to me they are playing the out of sight, out of mind game instead of addressing the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

My son attends this is school and it is a very good school. I have no regrets sending my child to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

i love Jefferson Junior High School it is a very good school and the principal is very good this is a great school. they have great teachers and the acdemics is very good .
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2006

As a mentor of an Asian student at Jefferson Junior High School, my student has have on several occasions told me stories about how he and his fellow Asian students are being physically and mentally harassed by the other students because of her ethnicity. The administrators at the school should begin putting into action any ways or means to prevent these 'hate' crimes. In this day and age, events as such should have been a thing of the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

It's my understanding that the principal was removed/previously worked for Shaw Junior High. I feel that parents should be made aware if a principal has been removed from a school and reasons why. These are our children and it's only fair that we know whose leading them in their education each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

The classes taken at this school are great, but the security is lacking greatly. The principal says the students are the problem. However, that is not the fact. He may have worked at Jefferson before, but simply yelling and overcriticizing a student does not help their self esteem, academics, and confidence. It demeans them. Also, some of the teachers are not even doing their job. One of my friends who attends a high school now, has failed the geometry exam because of her previous teacher's methods. I truly believe Jefferson needs to improve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2004

Although Jefferson JHS has a great administrative and teaching staff, most student aren't acedemic achievers. Meaning all the students are intellecual, but just lack the enthusiasm for learning.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 42% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2011.

274 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2011.

269 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students48%
Black, non-Hispanic46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Black, non-Hispanic30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students77%
Black, non-Hispanic75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students65%
Black, non-Hispanic61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Science

All Students36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

In 2012-2013, this school was designated "Reward".

About the tests


The DC school classification system includes multiple measures to evaluate performance and student growth. The possible classifications, from highest to lowest, are Reward, Rising, Developing, Focus and Priority. These measures include the DC CAS, annual growth, graduation rates, attendance rates and participation rates. Under the system, required under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), each school is given a School Index Score based on the performance of its students. Schools receive different levels of support, resources, flexibility and monitoring based on their classification.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests in the District of Columbia. Test scores are based on 2012-13 DC CAS results.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 DC CAS results from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 1%
Asian 6% N/A
Two or more races N/A 57%
White N/A 1%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/AN/A
Special education 16%N/A13%
English learners 5%N/A7%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Attendance

  This school District averageState average
All Students 97%N/AN/A
Asian/Pacific Islander 99%N/AN/A
Black, not Hispanic 96%N/AN/A
Hispanic 98%N/AN/A
Economically disadvantaged 96%N/AN/A
Students with disabilities 95%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 99%N/AN/A
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Natalie Gordon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (202) 724-2459

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • 71 (Georgia Avenue-7th Street Line), V7, V9 (Minnesota Ave-M Street Line)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Arena Stage
  • DC Scores
  • Best Friends Foundation
  • High Expectations
  • Links, Potomac Chapter
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Men of Strength Club
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
McKinley Tech
Banneker
Phelps
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 7th St. SW
Washington, DC 20024
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 671-6376

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Albans School
Washington, DC



BASIS DC PCS
Washington, DC




Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT